Service challenge to myself.

Hello. Haven’t heard from me in a while huh? Well. I have a lot to say about that. But these days I am back at BYU and writing for the BYU Center for Service blog. It’s a little different, but check it out sometime. I write about service and I get people to write about their experiences serving others at a very different kind of university. 

Yesterday, as I listened in on a program director training an idea resonated with me: I don’t have to do things the way I’ve always done them.

There was also a lot of musing about cake

As a creature of habit, every morning I open my eyes and check my phone at 6:18AM. I hit snooze when my alarm goes off at 7, for the better part of an hour (which I know is a crime) at which time I kick myself for not getting up earlier, splash some water on the face, jump in my running shoes, grab a bowl of cereal, and get to my 8 o’clock jogging class. Every Friday I get the 16 ounce Mango-a-Go-Go from Jamba Juice (after intense inner conflict with myself over whether the peach pleasure would indeed be more pleasurable). Every Sunday I say I’ll get up early to walk to church, every Sunday at 8:25 I grab my keys, about to be 5 minutes late to sacrament meeting.

Since I started working at the office I’ve been around service a lot. I feel all fuzzy and warm (practically a Muppet) all the time…But I’ve been thinking…my time as of late has been filled with more of telling people about service rather than…well…performing service. When did that happen?

Who am I? The existential started young.

“I did this program last year, it was amazing…last summer I was involved with this, had a blast…” As I tell the wonderful people who step into the office about the programs that would be so great for them I’ve been kind of…cringing inside. I know, I know, service is a way of life, it’s an attitude — there are many good, charitable people who serve in ways outside of organized groups and official service projects. But…

I don’t have to do things the way I’ve always done them.I also don’t have to sign up to be a Big Sister mentor for every Wednesday at 3PM until I turn into Bobo the Bear (an underappreciated Muppet in his own right). I don’t have to sign my life over to house builds every Saturday at 8. Just…maybe…this next Tuesday or Thursday when I would normally relax to the point of complete inertia after I got home from work at the Center…I could do something a little different. It could be just once. I could sacrifice a little. Yeah. I could do that. I think maybe I’ll try out Community Action. Or Hope. You with me?As a promise to myself, I’ll make this official: Internet official. Things just got real. Next week, next Friday, we’ll see what happens, k?

2 thoughts on “Service challenge to myself.

Leave a Reply

