A Fight for the Future of Turkey.

This is Cassie. She is brilliant. “Ideas are being shared. And there is no army more powerful than an idea.” – Cassie

If Anything Matters...

Protests in Istanbul are a common occurrence. Every Saturday I see a few groups here and there with signs I can’t translate fighting for causes unknown to me. A Turkish friend with me brushes off the causes they are fighting for, knowing their pleas will continually be ignored. Whatever, right?

Which is why when I heard about the protests in Gezi Park, I had a similar reaction. Another protest in Taksim—what else is new? This one seemed to carry more weight than the others though. I had read a few articles about the protests. The ostensible issue of conflict appeared to be a fight for trees? After repeated updates about the situation, I decided I wanted to ‘go see.’ The ignorant tourist side of me confidently made my way to Taksim Square.

Image

I got off the bus at Kabatas, one of the several boroughs in Istanbul, closest to the borough of…

View original post 581 more words

One thought on “A Fight for the Future of Turkey.

Leave a Reply

